Arts & Culture Music

Scratch Massive Releases New Full-Length ‘Garden of Love’

October 26, 2018 — Together as Scratch Massive, French duo Maud Geffray and Sébastien Chenut have been making electro-tinged slow-motion house since 1999.  With multiple full-lengths and original soundtracks under their belt, these two have a knack for crafting moody, cinematic bangers. Today they have unleashed the new full-length, Garden of Love. We’ve partnered with Hhhhappy Magazine to bring you the premiere!


Virtuoso compositions, subtle synthetic atmospheres, voices oscillating between pure intentions and dreamlike fantasy, a confusion of feelings and desires, time and space. Garden of Love, the new album by electro duo Scratch Massive makes an impression from the first moments that you hear its enigmatic beauty. Like a ghost train moving along a tightrope – between shadow and light, failure and redemption, violence and melancholy – this fourth studio album reaffirms the Parisian DJ/Producer duo style/vibe with their hybrid sounds and sensory experiences.

For 15 years, Maud Geffray and Sebastien Chenut have maintained artistic and aesthetic control as they participated in the “revolution of the dancefloors”. In the early 2000s, “Made in France” electro became known for its hedonism and as the savior of an entire techno generation ready to fight (or at least on the dancefloor!) for a future that was increasingly frustrating and hypothetical.

At first glance, Garden of Love appears to be an invitation to love and peace, however, nothing is ever that simple, as the album cover evokes a multitude of interpretations. The lyrics speak to the depths of the soul, covering a range of emotion from love, emotions, and fears. Garden of Love is for our hearts and bodies to become receptive again: the disenchanted poetry of the “Last Dance,” the sumptuous opening track set against a backdrop of electro-pop murmured in the light and shadows as painful caress; the psychedelic scent of “Sunken” (a duet recorded with the complicit and poisonous voice of Le?onie Pernet); and the dark-tech shores of “Fantome X” with the evanescent and hypnotic pop clarity of Feel The Void (both magnified by the vocals of Romain Thominot of the Reims pop band Grindi Manberg). Scratch Massive draws the outline of an electronic music in search of redemption – reinventing their icy grooves and confronting it with a naive elegance and a disillusioned romanticism that embodies our time.

Like a distant echo returning to our disoriented ears, Garden of Love, (whose title invokes the beauty in the shadows and ephemeral tenderness of the poem by British artist and poet William Blake), is the record of lost time, missed opportunities, as well as paths of rebirth.

For any potential press opportunities please reach out to George Chammas: george [at] planetarygroup [dot] com


Scratch Massive: Garden of Love
October 25, 2018

1. Last Dance
2. Numero 6
3. Fantome X
4. Dancer in the Dark
5. Chute Libre
6. Sunken
7. Mono Arch
8. Pray
9. Another Day
10. Feel the Void



About the author


News and art, national and local. Began as alternative weekly in 1990 in Buffalo, NY. Publishing content online since 1996.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: